Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Scary sharp

Scary sharp 1 year 1 week ago #14446

• toomzz
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 7
Hi there,

Last night I sharpened my Gayle Bradley Spyderco folder. It is a fabulous custom collaboration in CPM-M4 steel. M4 is not stainless but a very tough steel.
After setting up the knife in the WE, I walked through all the stones, from 100 all the way up to .6 MFC.
Between each stone I blackened the edge again with the felttipmarker to be sure I hit every part of the edge with the following stone. I decided to give the blade a 32 degrees inclusive edge (16 per side)
When I was done there was no need for stropping anymore. That knife is DANGEROUSLY sharp now.
I have been sharpening my knives myself for almost 20 years with the Spyderco sharpmaker and I am not considering myself an expert, but I have never made a knife this sharp.
Next step will be to purchase a stropblockset or two to finish the job (mirrorlook B) ). I am totally convinced now that purchasing that WE was a good choice!

:silly:
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wickededge

Scary sharp 1 year 6 days ago #14447

• DARRELLALLEN
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 35
I couldn't agree more................LOVE, LOVE, my WEPS PP2........:woohoo:
The following user(s) said Thank You: wickededge

Scary sharp 1 year 6 days ago #14448

• JackMontrose
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 18
Yep, you caught the bug.... :side:

Scary sharp 1 year 6 days ago #14449

• EamonMcGowan
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 200
toomzz wrote:
Hi there,

When I was done there was no need for stropping anymore. That knife is DANGEROUSLY sharp now.
I have been sharpening my knives myself for almost 20 years with the Spyderco sharpmaker and I am not considering myself an expert, but I have never made a knife this sharp.